We use cookies to improve your browsing experience. By continuing, you agree to receive cookies on our website. Learn more

Eastern Star

Chinese, Thai

141 Church Street, Huddersfield, HD1 4UJ

Delivery available on orders of £10 and over (delivery fee £1, free when you spend £20 or more)

Overall

4.5 stars out of 6 4.5 / 6
Food quality 4.5
Delivery time 4.4
Service 4.6

Based on the 460 most recent reviews

2629 reviews of Eastern Star

  • 16/04/2019
    Alex
    6 stars out of 6
    Early delivery and excellent food!
  • 16/04/2019
    Faye
    5.5 stars out of 6
  • 15/04/2019
    Louis
    3.5 stars out of 6
    The food was okay. it was delivered half an hour early. I didn’t believe the reviews about the sweet and sour sauce tasting like strawberry ice scream sauce and ordered anyway this was a mistake. duck was on the dry side. the salt and pepper chicken was nice.
  • 14/04/2019
    Stuart
    1.5 stars out of 6
    Possibly the worst chinese I have ever had tasteless won't be using again
  • 14/04/2019
    Emma
    1 stars out of 6
    This was such a disappointing takeaway. Despite placing the original order at 20:15, the original lead time for delivery was 65 mins however, it did not arrive until 22:00!! The spring rolls seemed to be completely missing their filling which was baffling. The crispy chicken and crispy beef dishes were so rubbery they were inedible. The sweet and sour sauce was the most revolting flavour. I only ordered from here because my usual chinese was unexpectedly closed. I have thrown the entire order in the bin and resorted to a slice of toast! Most definitely will not be ordering for this place ever again!
  • 14/04/2019
    Lucee
    5 stars out of 6
    Lovely food though.
  • 14/04/2019
    Toni
    4.5 stars out of 6
    I chose to collect as just eat put delivery for hour and a half, the take away had it ready to collect in half an hour.
  • 14/04/2019
    Fiona
    2.5 stars out of 6
    The worst chinese ive ever had, the sweet and sauce tasted like warm strawberry sauce, the chips were overcooked oven chips with no taste. Vermacelli overpowered by chillis, prawns looked aneamic. The chicken balls had about 2 inch of overcooked batter, chicken had no flavour. Prawn toast had no prawn flavour. Would go back if you paid me, we only used this one as our usual one wasnt open.
  • 14/04/2019
    Roxanne
    2.5 stars out of 6
  • 14/04/2019
    Rebecca
    6 stars out of 6
    Ordered from here for the first time tonight and wasn’t disappointed! Original order time given was 1.5hrs but arrived in 1hr. Salt & pepper chips were amazing and super hot! Plenty of chillies just how I like them! Salt and pepper chicken wings were massive and very tasty too! The rest of the order was lovely! Will be ordering again.
  • 13/04/2019
    Kevin
    4.5 stars out of 6
    Food excellent as ever. Time from order to delivery way to long
  • 13/04/2019
    Alex
    6 stars out of 6
    Fantastic Tofu here!
  • 13/04/2019
    Debra
    4.5 stars out of 6
  • 13/04/2019
    Steven
    4.5 stars out of 6
    Was an hour for delivery, did come when stated. Good food, and some of the most spicy chillies on the salt and pepper chips I have had. They were ace! . Would order from here again.
  • 13/04/2019
    A
    5 stars out of 6
    Nice food but a bit cold, had to microwave before eating.
  • 13/04/2019
    Natalie
    5.5 stars out of 6
  • 13/04/2019
    Tim
    1.5 stars out of 6
    10 minutes late on the order, the sweet and sour sauce was so sweet, it literally tasted like strawberry sauce for ice cream! Inedible! Even the kids said it was too sickly! The Japanese noodles were bland, but the hot and sour soup, and the satay chicken were nice. We will not be ordering from here again.
  • 13/04/2019
    Frances
    5 stars out of 6
    Second time we've ordered from here, the pad Thai was weird but everything else was really nice
  • 13/04/2019
    James
    6 stars out of 6
    Food arrived nice and early It was well presented, hot and as ordered. Everything tasted great. Will definitely have food from here again 🙂
  • 13/04/2019
    Holly
    5.5 stars out of 6
  • 12/04/2019
    Marcus
    6 stars out of 6
  • 12/04/2019
    Neil
    6 stars out of 6
    Very filling no one left hungry.
  • 12/04/2019
    Diane
    2 stars out of 6
    Food was late had to ring 3 times not even an apology for late food that cost me money never ordering from them again disgusting
  • 11/04/2019
    Esther
    6 stars out of 6
    Very happy. Exactly what I wanted 👍🏻
  • 09/04/2019
    Diane
    4 stars out of 6
    Food was early which was great everything was nice apart from the chicken in the chicken fried rice was rubbery
  • 08/04/2019
    Joshua
    6 stars out of 6
    Fantastic food always and delivery time was fantastic
  • 08/04/2019
    Julie
    2 stars out of 6
    Ordered crispy beef in chilli sauce but put on the note please can the beef not be crispy I received it it looked like batter just fried no beef in it either called the takeaway and got told they only fried lightly I had the phone but down on me so called back and got told if I wanted some more I'd after to pay for another lot of food the lady told me it was my fault I thought when you ask for not crispy it means not crispy will not be ordering again And got spoken to like rubbish
  • 07/04/2019
    Paul
    3.5 stars out of 6
  • 07/04/2019
    Helen
    6 stars out of 6
    Another truly sublime culinary experience from you delightful folk at the eastern star. Each sumptuous mouthful took me back to my days travelling throughout the orient, sampling the most magnificent delicacies on offer. I am certain I will have no greater struggle in life than trying to find finer cuisine than you glorious souls deliver to me, on every occasion. Thankyou so much again, Helen
  • 06/04/2019
    Lucee
    6 stars out of 6
    Beautiful.
1 of 88 next 30

There are no items in your basket

Delivery available on orders of £10 and over (delivery fee £1, free when you spend £20 or more)

View order