We use cookies to improve your browsing experience. By continuing, you agree to receive cookies on our website. Learn more

Gills Golden Fry

Fish & Chips, Pizza

43 Ashdown Road, Sunderland, SR3 3HU

Opening at 16:30

Overall

5.3 stars out of 6 5.3 / 6
Food quality 5.4
Delivery time 5.3
Service 5.3

Based on the 323 most recent reviews

338 reviews of Gills Golden Fry

  • 13/09/2019
    Claire
    6 stars out of 6
    Good value. Food always hot and tasty. Can never go wrong ordering from Gills.
  • 10/09/2019
    Samantha
    5.5 stars out of 6
    Lovely food great delivery time only down fall was I ordered curry sauce and received gravy, apart from that food spot on
  • 10/09/2019
    Lee
    6 stars out of 6
    The food is always delicious, hot and on time (often early). The delivery lad is pleasant too. My husband says the fish is the best he's ever had and the cheese patties are to die for! Everything is always packaged well and labelled clearly - I really appreciate that. Also, two bags of chips feeds 4 of us comfortably, and we're hearty eaters! Seriously, the best chippy in Sunderland! Thank you for your fantastic service and lovely food. Won't go anywhere else now. 😁😁😁
  • 08/09/2019
    Liam
    1 stars out of 6
    Bought kebab and chips with garlic bread cheese mushrooms. Opened the kebab and had a dead wasp or hornet of some sort in my chips. Went back to the shop and was told nothing wrong just eat it. Surly that can't put you off your food. Was then advised can give you new order and a free pop. They were not bothered to the fact I believe they put the food back in the containers to resell.

    Gills Golden Fry replied

    Dear Liam. This review contains false comments as you said that we put the food back in the containers this is extremely false .Dear Liam I've got the full cctv cameras that we throw all the food in the bin so I'm not worring. Cause we care about our customers and we always give fresh and clean food. You placed an order by just eat and as a mistake we refunded you cash that I forgot that I must refund you by just eat. After 10 minutes I received a notice on just eat machine that you are asking refund again twice we got that record as well on just eat. So please dont make fool staff and owners of shops cause we work hard to keep customers happy and this is not the first time with your orders and you try to ask money back cause we never had any complaints of this kind from customers. Thanks anyways for your review.

  • 08/09/2019
    Kyle
    2 stars out of 6
    The kebab meat came wrapped in a foil ball dripping of grease and smelled like a butchers, I didn't notice the smell at first but then I started to feel I'll after a few bites.

    Gills Golden Fry replied

    Dear Kyle. I apologise if you think the kebab meat smelled like a butcher's. We gave all fresh food and we never had that kind of complaint from any other customers about the kebab meat. Anyways however you recieved your refund. Thanks

  • 07/09/2019
    Stacey
    6 stars out of 6
  • 07/09/2019
    Tyler
    3.5 stars out of 6
    Pizza bland & tasteless. Garlic dip missing from order. Always seems to be something wrong or missing, how hard is it to read a list and put items on said list in a bag? Was much better before it was taken over by new management.

    Gills Golden Fry replied

    Dear Tyler. I apologise if a small dip of garlic was missing but the pizza bland and tasteless is when a customer dont come for the requested time for collection. No list is hard to read anyways the staff said that the garlic dip was in the bag and we did refunded you anyways for it by just eat. This is the first complaint from you and we never had any issue from you as you said that something is always missing. I apologise but nothing has been changed everything is like before. please dont judge about the management without knowing. But I assure you this won't happen again we will provide you a better service. Hope to see you again. Thanks

  • 03/09/2019
    Jacqueline
    6 stars out of 6
    It was excellent apart from having sweet corn on my pizza and getting a battered burger i didn't order
  • 31/08/2019
    Neil
    5 stars out of 6
  • 30/08/2019
    Susan
    5.5 stars out of 6
  • 26/08/2019
    Rachel
    1 stars out of 6
    Order came late. Wife had to walk to shop as phone wasn't working. When we unwrapped food it was no where near as warm as usual considering we live in the same street. Also missing a tub of sauce. Update on just eat to say there was delay only came in once delivered. Poor service all round. Wife was given a free bottle of pop which was not needed. We use this shop 2 to 3 times a month, due to the lack of communication and for an order to take 1 hour and 40 mins to arrive when we live so close as put us off ordering again. It's a real shame as they can be fantastic!!

    Gills Golden Fry replied

    Dear, Im sorry for that but the order was late only 5 min when your wife came in the shop our driver was back from your house and the food was already delivered and we update it you on just eat that the order will be late 5 minute as the shop was extremely busy and about the phone was not working we didnt had any complaint from other customers about the phone.The tub was in the large doner kebab as requested in the order. If it was missing you should rang the shop. Separate tub of sauce was no requested. Anyways thanks for your review and I apologise again.

  • 24/08/2019
    Rob
    6 stars out of 6
    Piping hot.
  • 22/08/2019
    Yvonne
    6 stars out of 6
    Well wrapped to keep hot witch was great got everything we asked for no mistakes and the food was fantastic top job no complaints we always order from here and tonight was tip top with the extra wrapping xx
  • 16/08/2019
    Kara
    5.5 stars out of 6
  • 16/08/2019
    Andrea
    5.5 stars out of 6
  • 16/08/2019
    Kira
    6 stars out of 6
    Really good quality food - first time ive had a kebab that I couldnt critique!
  • 16/08/2019
    Paul
    5.5 stars out of 6
  • 15/08/2019
    Pauline
    6 stars out of 6
  • 11/08/2019
    Georgia
    4 stars out of 6
    Fish was nice but chips were a bit undercooked
  • 11/08/2019
    David
    6 stars out of 6
    Lovely as usual. Missing a bag from order. Phoned shop and it was brought down immediately. Perfect service.
  • 26/07/2019
    Andrea
    5 stars out of 6
  • 27/07/2019
    Lauren
    4 stars out of 6
  • 01/08/2019
    Andrea
    5.5 stars out of 6
  • 03/08/2019
    Leanne
    6 stars out of 6
    Lovely food as usual, wouldn’t go anywhere else now.
  • 05/08/2019
    Dean
    6 stars out of 6
  • 06/08/2019
    Emily
    6 stars out of 6
  • 10/08/2019
    Lynne
    6 stars out of 6
    Delicious pizza’s, first class food and service. As good, if not better, than pizza at twice the price.
  • 10/08/2019
    Chloe
    5.5 stars out of 6
  • 10/08/2019
    Joanne
    6 stars out of 6
    Use a lot, nice food and good delivery times.
  • 10/08/2019
    Nicole
    5 stars out of 6
1 of 12 next 30

There are no items in your basket

Delivery available on orders of £7 and over (delivery fee £1.50)

View order