We use cookies to improve your browsing experience. By continuing, you agree to receive cookies on our website. Learn more

Gills Golden Takeaway

Pizza, Fish & Chips

9 Young Street, Hartlepool, TS26 8BS

Opening at Tue 11:15

Overall

5 stars out of 6 5 / 6
Food quality 4.6
Delivery time 5.5
Service 5.1

Based on the 96 most recent reviews

681 reviews of Gills Golden Takeaway

  • 12/06/2019
    Brendan
    5.5 stars out of 6
  • 11/06/2019
    Tony
    5 stars out of 6
  • 07/06/2019
    Tony
    1.5 stars out of 6
    had to cut gravy with a knife it was that thick , curry was disgusting , dish was watery and freezing and chips were out of bin I think absolutely disgusting , all ended up in bin
  • 03/06/2019
    Toni
    2.5 stars out of 6
    we have been here a few times and it seems to be getting worse. tonight was definitely our worst. chips extremely hard and as if they've have been cooked and then heated up about 20 times!! unedible!! the fish tasted like it had been cooked in perm lotion and could only have one bite. Monet thrown in the bin. dont worry I will be leaving this review elsewhere to tell people
  • 01/06/2019
    Rebecca
    6 stars out of 6
  • 31/05/2019
    Phillip
    2.5 stars out of 6
    Never again the fish was dry the chips half cooked and soggy curry sauce?.. I binned the meal. Never use again.
  • 30/05/2019
    Sam
    6 stars out of 6
    First time i have used gills and pleased to say i will use again nice food great service Thanks!
  • 28/05/2019
    Steven
    4 stars out of 6
    Chips were good, pizza was okay, chicken wrap was poor. Overall very salty
  • 09/05/2019
    Kelly
    6 stars out of 6
    Lovely food never been disappointed always friendly and on time.. we always order from here 😊
  • 09/05/2019
    Kelly
    6 stars out of 6
    Lovely food as always! early delivery didn’t wait long at all and friendly delivery driver
  • 06/05/2019
    Kelly
    6 stars out of 6
    Lovely food and lovely staff.
  • 04/05/2019
    Leah
    4.5 stars out of 6
    The cheese savoury patty was nice but the could taste a strong oil after taste not sure if it’s just the oil they use also for my taste the batter is too thick and spongy inside the fish was a nice big size for a half lot and the chips were cooked lovely but also everything had that strong oil taste ruined the food for me and the curry was powdery not mixed properly , gravy was really nice tho delivery was early so that was a positive
  • 27/04/2019
    Alistair
    6 stars out of 6
  • 24/04/2019
    Toni
    6 stars out of 6
  • 22/04/2019
    Brown
    3 stars out of 6
  • 19/04/2019
    Matthew
    6 stars out of 6
    Lush
  • 18/04/2019
    Kat
    6 stars out of 6
    Huge portions. HUGE. All delicious, apart from the mushy peas which tasted of vinegar almost to the point of being inedible. But the rest pretty much made up for that. Very happy and will order again!
  • 10/04/2019
    Chloe
    6 stars out of 6
  • 05/04/2019
    Sophie
    5.5 stars out of 6
  • 03/04/2019
    Nicole
    2 stars out of 6
  • 01/04/2019
    Cheryl
    3.5 stars out of 6
    Food was very very salty .... dont get me wrong you could it was freshly done and piping hot..but just tasted off salt..I thought I was being picky as I dont like the taste of salt but even my hubby who loves salt it was too much even for him..so it just went in the bin im afraid.
  • 25/03/2019
    Kyle
    4.5 stars out of 6
  • 23/03/2019
    Kelsey
    4 stars out of 6

    Gills Golden Takeaway replied

    Thanks Kelsey.

  • 22/03/2019
    Brendan
    6 stars out of 6
    Great as always.

    Gills Golden Takeaway replied

    Thank you Brendan.

  • 20/03/2019
    Les
    6 stars out of 6
    as always beautiful

    Gills Golden Takeaway replied

    Thank you les.

  • 15/03/2019
    Sue
    2.5 stars out of 6
    No betchamel sauce on parmo it was tomato pure, dona meat was so dry...... pizza no taste,, kebab wraps had to fish for meat...2 good things was chips n fresh salad...

    Gills Golden Takeaway replied

    Sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your parmo, it does say in the option we don't do bechamel sauce, we do our own made sauce. You ask for a London pizza with chips on that's what you got. Also our donner wrap are very big, I don't no what you had to fish for.

  • 15/03/2019
    Mr
    4 stars out of 6

    Gills Golden Takeaway replied

    Thanks.

  • 08/03/2019
    Clare
    4 stars out of 6
    Even though there was only a few chips alot of them were cold and hard. Also my nephew said there was a funny taste to his pepperoni pizza

    Gills Golden Takeaway replied

    Hi Clare please note you ordered 2 kids pizzas with a few chips, so that is what we delivered. Our chips are proper potatoe chips and are fried fresh and can never be cold.

  • 02/03/2019
    Du
    5 stars out of 6

    Gills Golden Takeaway replied

    Thanks du.

  • 17/05/2019
    Les
    6 stars out of 6
    Only chippy i use alwasys hot tasty and excellent service 10stars
1 of 23 next 30

There are no items in your basket

Delivery available on orders of £6 and over (delivery fee £1.50)

View order