We use cookies to improve your browsing experience. By continuing, you agree to receive cookies on our website. Learn more

Happy Rice

Chinese, Oriental

178a Easter Road, Edinburgh, EH7 5QQ

Opening at 12:35

10% off today on orders over £19.50

Overall

4.4 stars out of 6 4.4 / 6
Food quality 4.2
Delivery time 4.6
Service 4.5

Based on the 255 most recent reviews

800 reviews of Happy Rice

  • 18/02/2019
    Peat
    4 stars out of 6
    Dumplings and dim sum are easily the best in leith. Duck in my chow mein was mostly skin and bones.

    Happy Rice replied

    Thank you take your time reviews online. We just check your order only 2 items for your Lunch today : 1 x Dumpling Mixed and 1 x Roast Duck Chow Mein , We would like let you know all the Menu only Aromatic Crispy Duck and Chinese Dishes ( Duck or Chicken ) with bones, All other duck meals We use duck with no bones. Duck skin should be Roast Duck Chow Mein, but there must be no duck bones in it. Thank you choose from Happy Rice! Happy ( Chinese) New Year!

  • 17/02/2019
    Danielle
    3.5 stars out of 6
    Love the chicken Peking and ribs. Sadly never delivers on time.

    Happy Rice replied

    We are very apolgize for late, Thank you for your time reviews online! Thank you for waiting and choose order from Happy Rice! Happy (Chinese) New Year!

  • 17/02/2019
    Jade
    6 stars out of 6
    fast delivery, lovely delivery man and great food! thanks
  • 16/02/2019
    Iain
    2 stars out of 6
    Poor food, long delivery, order arrived incorrect

    Happy Rice replied

    We're very sorry you waited more than an hour for your 2 items, Because the football match very very busy last night. We had a lot of orders before than you. Even small orders, It's must wait in line at the time of receiving the customer's order. But you only order : Beef Chow Mein and Chips (Large) were correct, it's also these 2 items not Poor food. Thank you long time wait, Happy New Year!

  • 16/02/2019
    Ross
    2.5 stars out of 6
    Delivered in correct drink order with no explianition.

    Happy Rice replied

    We're very sorry you waited more than an hour for your food. Because very very busy at the football match last night. A lot of orders before than you. you must wait the in line. But you order 3 drink 1 x Fanta (2L) , 1 x Tango (2L) ,1x Pepsi (0.33L) are correct Thank you long time wait, Happy ( Chinese) New Year!

  • 16/02/2019
    Emily
    2.5 stars out of 6
    food was cold, meat was freezing. generally very disappointing will not be ordering from here again

    Happy Rice replied

    We are apolgize you wait long time. But, your food very hot, because your address very near the shop, the driver said only use 5 mins been your home after order ready. you order 1x Sesame Prawn on Toast, 1x Satay (Chicken), 1x Chicken Chow Mein, 1x Crispy Shredded Beef ((a)Honey & Chilli Sauce, 1x Salt & Pepper Chips (Large) , all these items not easy cold. we understand that you're not happy because you've been waiting for one and a half hours for foodball match very busy day. we are very sorry again. Happy ( Chinese ) New Year!

  • 14/02/2019
    Clementina
    5.5 stars out of 6

    Happy Rice replied

    Thank you for your time reviews 5.5 stars online! Thank you choose order from Happy Rice! Happy (Chinese) New Year!

  • 14/02/2019
    Jane
    5.5 stars out of 6
    Excellent

    Happy Rice replied

    Thank you for your time reviews 5.5 stars and good comments online! Thank you choose order from Happy Rice! Happy (Chinese) New Year!

  • 09/02/2019
    Ann
    5.5 stars out of 6

    Happy Rice replied

    Thank you for your time reviews 5.5 stars online! Thank you choose order from Happy Rice! Happy Chinese New Year!

  • 08/02/2019
    Sam
    6 stars out of 6
  • 08/02/2019
    James
    6 stars out of 6
  • 05/02/2019
    Andy
    5.5 stars out of 6
    Food was delivered quickly. One small criticism the Chicken Curry was very salty tasting.

    Happy Rice replied

    Thank you for your time reviews 5.5 stars and good comments online! Thank you choose order from Happy Rice! Happy Chinese New Year!

  • 03/02/2019
    Andrew
    6 stars out of 6

    Happy Rice replied

    Thank you for your time reviews 6 stars online! Thank you choose order from Happy Rice! Happy Chinese New Year!

  • 02/02/2019
    Barbara
    6 stars out of 6
    Excellent quality and very good price.

    Happy Rice replied

    Thank you for your time reviews 6 stars and very good comments online! Thank you choose order from Happy Rice! Happy Chinese New Year!

  • 02/02/2019
    Amy
    3 stars out of 6
    food was cold

    Happy Rice replied

    Thank you for your time reviews online! Thank you choose order from Happy Rice! Happy Chinese New Year!

  • 02/02/2019
    Ryan
    6 stars out of 6
    Happy Rice is absolutely class, you’d be a fool to order from any other Chinese nearby. Plus the woman who works behind the desk puts the ‘happy’ in the title. big up the HR massive.

    Happy Rice replied

    Thank you for your time reviews 6 stars and very good comments online! Thank you choose order from Happy Rice! Happy Chinese New Year!

  • 02/02/2019
    Claire
    2 stars out of 6
    The food was awful. curry sauce had no flavour and the Kung Po was far too sweet (the consistency of jam)

    Happy Rice replied

    Thank you for your time reviews online! Thank you choose order from Happy Rice! Happy Chinese New Year!

  • 01/02/2019
    Kris
    6 stars out of 6

    Happy Rice replied

    Thank you for your time reviews 6 stars online! Thank you always choose order from Happy Rice! Happy Chinese New Year!

  • 01/02/2019
    George
    6 stars out of 6

    Happy Rice replied

    Thank you for your time reviews 6 stars online! Thank you always choose order from Happy Rice! Happy Chinese New Year!

  • 30/01/2019
    Kris
    6 stars out of 6

    Happy Rice replied

    Thank you for your time reviews 6 stars online! Thank you choose order from Happy Rice! Happy New Year!

  • 28/01/2019
    Kirsty
    6 stars out of 6
    Super yummy as always!! My new favourite Chinese!

    Happy Rice replied

    Thank you for your time reviews 6 stars and good comments online! Thank you always choose order from Happy Rice! Happy New Year!

  • 28/01/2019
    Ajuma
    3.5 stars out of 6
    Very nice chips, but the steak udon noodles were disappointing - very oily, not much sauce, no vegetables mixed in and the meat wasn't great

    Happy Rice replied

    Thank you for your time reviews online! Thank you choose order from Happy Rice! Happy New Year!

  • 28/01/2019
    Michelle
    6 stars out of 6
  • 27/01/2019
    Lucy
    5 stars out of 6
    Food was mediocre at best and was cold when it arrived

    Happy Rice replied

    Thank you for your time reviews 5 stars online! Thank you choose order from Happy Rice! Happy New Year!

  • 27/01/2019
    Matt
    3 stars out of 6

    Happy Rice replied

    Thank you for your time reviews online! Thank you choose order from Happy Rice! Happy New Year!

  • 26/01/2019
    Jack
    6 stars out of 6
  • 26/01/2019
    Frederick
    2.5 stars out of 6

    Happy Rice replied

    Thank you for your time reviews online! Thank you choose order from Happy Rice! Happy New Year!

  • 25/01/2019
    Pauline
    6 stars out of 6
    Lovely food huge pieces of chicken. Will definitely order again.

    Happy Rice replied

    Thank you for your time reviews 6 stars and good comments online! Thank you choose order from Happy Rice! Happy New Year!

  • 25/01/2019
    Liam
    2.5 stars out of 6
    The chicken in all meals tasted rubbery and off. It left a very strange aftertaste. It tasted like it had been marinated in car battery acid and tasted off and horrible! Will not be ordering again!

    Happy Rice replied

    Thank you for your time reviews online! Thank you choose order from Happy Rice! Happy New Year!

  • 24/01/2019
    Jaimie
    1 stars out of 6
    Appauled by this place, said would take an hour, ended up coming after 2 hours of ordering. Called twice and they said the food was on its way which took an hour from first call. Food came, freezing cold chips on show at the top of the woman's bag, curry sauce like a ball of jelly, asked for a fork on the order as I was in hotel and they tried to charge me £2!!! Called to ask for partial refund and they refused. Left hungry in a hotel with no time to order anything else

    Happy Rice replied

    We are apologzie we're late, that's why we're free a can of Irn Bru and a bottle of water for you. we're check your order sent the time was: 19:48:25 pm today, the driver use 16 minutes been the Hotel, this is normal driving time for 3.5 Mils. Driver been the Village Hotel at 21:29 pm, the driver try a few time call you but hotel had no signal and the reception was busy talking on the phone, you didn't write the hotel room nubmer, So the driver try call you again and again, In fact, the driver already feeling Salt & Pepper Chips on the top delivery bag was still warm when the called sucessful your pick up your food at reception on 21:35 pm. you didn't call back the driver you want return your food within 15 min minutes when you pick up the food. noboby say the curry sauce like a ball of jelly. you ask 2 knife and fork, 50p each on the menu total £2 charge was right. but you say you don't know need charge so you don't want pay it, we're also agree free for you. By the way, Even the customers would like write bad comments onlie, We still can't accept any reason to refund if the meal has been eaten by the customer. Thanks

1 of 27 next 30

There are no items in your basket

Delivery available on orders of £10 and over (delivery fee £1.80)

View order