We use cookies to improve your browsing experience. By continuing, you agree to receive cookies on our website. Learn more

Hartley's

Fish & Chips, English

Lowtown, Pudsey, LS28 7AA

Opening at 12:00

20% off today on orders over £15

Overall

4.6 stars out of 6 4.6 / 6
Food quality 4.3
Delivery time 4.9
Service 4.7

Based on the 84 most recent reviews

91 reviews of Hartley's

  • 19/05/2019
    Charlotte
    4.5 stars out of 6
    Nice food, good portions and the curry sauce was great. Would definitely reorder
  • 19/05/2019
    David
    6 stars out of 6
    I can’t recommend this place enough the food is absolutely amazing,I ordered the fish and chips,fish butty,and chips with scraps,the food wasn’t oily like other places I’ve tried in the past the curry sauce was lovely but was a bit too spicy with the chopped red chillis in the sauce for my mum,other than that outstanding food and the price is good for what you get very good portion size and not overfilling,would also like to say the young guy that does delivery is very friendly every time he delivers 👍 you have a regular customer here keep up the good work hartleys 👌
  • 19/05/2019
    Alex
    6 stars out of 6
    So nice to get vegan food from a chippy 😋 I loved the ‘fish’ and the ‘cheese’ bites.
  • 17/05/2019
    Connor
    4.5 stars out of 6
    the fish was ok , despite finding a bone in it , and chips were pretty dry. wouldnt order again

    Hartley's replied

    Sorry to hear this Alex,all food is made in order and not prepared before hand like many places. Please also bear in mind this is fish and chips and also your self living 5.2 miles from our shop.which is 1.2 miles above the set distance,we did not want to let you down and agreed to allow the order, But thanks for trying us,sorry we did not meet your expectations.i have removed your address from any future orders to be sent out. All the best

  • 17/05/2019
    Martin
    5.5 stars out of 6
    As usual the fish was extremely tasty as were the kebabs

    Hartley's replied

    Thank you mate 🤝

  • 17/05/2019
    Cassie
    6 stars out of 6

    Hartley's replied

    Thank you

  • 16/05/2019
    Scott
    2.5 stars out of 6
    I don't think we will be ordering from here again which is a shame as the reviews are so good. To start with we were missing a can of cream soda from the order, which didn't give the best first impression, then the chips were very underdone to the point some of them were still hard, the curry sauce was quite sweet and the mushy peas as well as the fish didn't really taste like anything. Although the food wasn't greasy, which is good, we spent a lot of money on a meal which didn't really taste of anything and that is annoying, especially as we didn't even get our full order.

    Hartley's replied

    Sorry to hear this, You did not ask for any salt or vinegar to be placed on any of your order,so don’t understand what they are supposed to taste like with out them, As your address is also out of our delivery range set up,we have removed your address for delivery . Thanks for trying us and sorry we did not meet your expirations All the best

  • 13/05/2019
    Jenni
    6 stars out of 6
    Perfect! Loved it, will be ordering again!

    Hartley's replied

    Thank you

  • 13/05/2019
    Cheryl
    4.5 stars out of 6
    Good was awesome , although I'm sure we were supposed to receive fruit shoots with the kids meals Great vegan selection Thanks

    Hartley's replied

    Please accept my apologies for the staff member not giving foot shoots with the x 2 child’s meal,our cash & carry delivery just arrived ,hence why they where not sent out,please on your next order mention this and I will make sure x2 xtra are given...once again I am very sorry for this mistake. Chef Nussy

  • 11/05/2019
    Elliot
    2 stars out of 6

    Hartley's replied

    Thank you

  • 11/05/2019
    Jamie
    1 stars out of 6
    Disgusting food very unhappy with it fish wasn’t how it used to be the fat that came off it was mining it’s gone down hill to what it used to be never again will I order for here

    Hartley's replied

    Thank you

  • 10/05/2019
    Marina
    4.5 stars out of 6
    The portion of fish and chips was absolutely tiny with barely any chips. Checked to see if I'd ordered a pensioner's portion by mistake. The fish was delicious and crispy but also small. The curry sauce was great but the mushy peas were totally inedible- watery, a weird colour and tasteless. Disappointed. Won't be ordering again. Way overpriced for the amount you get.

    Hartley's replied

    Thank you

  • 09/05/2019
    Katie
    5.5 stars out of 6
    I would definitely order from here again

    Hartley's replied

    Thank you 🤝

  • 08/05/2019
    David
    6 stars out of 6
    If our country is ever nuked and I survive, please please let “Hartley’s Fish Shop” survive too. Awesome food and delivery service Once again + extras lol. Keep it up guys. 👍❤️👍❤️👍❤️👍❤️🙏🏻
  • 06/05/2019
    John
    4.5 stars out of 6

    Hartley's replied

    Thank you

  • 05/05/2019
    Richard
    3.5 stars out of 6
    Chips were cold and not many of them fish was tiny

    Hartley's replied

    Sorry to hear this.

  • 04/05/2019
    Jenni
    5.5 stars out of 6
    Portions could have been bigger, but overall not bad

    Hartley's replied

    Thank you

  • 04/05/2019
    David
    6 stars out of 6
    Just like to say wonderful fish and chips best I’ve ever had not greasy like normal fish was lovely and fresh chips were perfect every part of the meal was perfect will definitely be ordering again food was still hot too on arrival,cheers guys!! 👍

    Hartley's replied

    Thanks matey 🤝

  • 04/05/2019
    Schumann
    5 stars out of 6
    As a vegetarian, I am always looking for good takeaways with vegetarian options. I was amazed that you had so much but…. I think you menu was a little misleading. Your ‘vegan fish fingers’ was basically filled with potato and vegetables. I was expecting something like the ‘Quorn Vegan Fishless Fingers’ which was disappointing. the samosas were nice and big, and I liked the vegan fish and chips but wish the fish seasoning was better, tasted more like battered chicken. Also, I thought the falafel was going to be in pita bread with salad and a dip, not just the falafels.

    Hartley's replied

    Hi thanks for your review. Please note menu is not misleading the vegan fish fingers are vegan and we have no control on what is inside them? The vegan fish is seasoned to suite all taste and the falafel we sell is either on its own or with chips,we do not state comes with pita bread ,salad and dips are sold separate ?

  • 03/05/2019
    Cassie
    5.5 stars out of 6

    Hartley's replied

    Thank you

  • 03/05/2019
    Laura
    2.5 stars out of 6
    Sent one sauce instead of two, cheesecake instead of fudge cake. Was 25 mins late, wet and tepid, the vegan fish was not nice. All in all not great!

    Hartley's replied

    Please note 2 curry sauces where sent. Thank you for your kind review

  • 03/05/2019
    Dex
    4.5 stars out of 6
    Biggest problem was that we were not expecting to get Tango Apple, which is very different from Tango Orange.

    Hartley's replied

    Apologies we are still waiting for cash and carry delivery hence why we sent out alternative to you

  • 03/05/2019
    Leigh
    2 stars out of 6
    food was 25 mins late which I maybe expected from reading other reviews. however, when it came I has ordered chips with melted cheese and salami (sounds yummy) - what I got was chips with some kind of orange gunge (definitely not melted cheese), chopped up sausage and chopped up sandwich ham. the one thing in the world i detest is ham!! so I've spent a good portion of time picking everything off of the chips. the fish was ok, but for £7.95 for a fish alone I expected more. you could get the same size fish with chips included for the same price elsewhere. overall delivery needs to be sorted out and food quality needs something doing with it!

    Hartley's replied

    As you can appreciate the mileage been covered and having 3 full time drivers we can only do our best in delivery?? The cheese used was melted Mexican cheese We have many happy returning customers hence why we have 3 full drivers on board Again thank you for trying us

  • 29/04/2019
    David
    5.5 stars out of 6
    Great food and delivery service once again. 👍👍👍👍

    Hartley's replied

    Thank you 🤝

  • 28/04/2019
    Schumann
    2.5 stars out of 6
    Food was nice except the veggie burger :s but glad you had a good veggie option. Driver was 15mins late and didnt say sorry or give a smile...

    Hartley's replied

    Appoligies for the driver not smiling or saying sorry,after speaking to the new driver I guess he was slightly confused to your destination as he had finding the place off the grid abit confusing hence the delay getting to your good self,sorry you did not like the vegan burger ,it was the only one we sourced at the moment,but we have found some others to try out which we will be doing this week.. Call into the shop and ask to speak to sultan or nussy and we will resolve this for you in the future and make sure you are happy with the order and service.

  • 28/04/2019
    Kelseigh
    6 stars out of 6
    Great food., fast delivery

    Hartley's replied

    Thank you 🤝

  • 27/04/2019
    Luke
    5 stars out of 6

    Hartley's replied

    Thank you

  • 25/04/2019
    Mr
    6 stars out of 6
    Wow, how many times in a row is this chippy going to get it spot on. Cos once again, food was awesome, plenty of it too, you just can’t get it wrong ordering from Hartley’s. Keep it up guys and the delivery driver awesome job thanks...!

    Hartley's replied

    Thank you 🤝

  • 24/04/2019
    Dwayne
    1.5 stars out of 6

    Hartley's replied

    Thank you

  • 23/04/2019
    Claire
    6 stars out of 6
    Brilliant food and portions.

    Hartley's replied

    Thank you 🤝

1 of 4 next 30

There are no items in your basket

Delivery available on orders of £10 and over (delivery fee £3)

View order