We use cookies to improve your browsing experience. By continuing, you agree to receive cookies on our website. Learn more

Lucky 9

Chinese, Oriental

117a Newbridge Street, Newcastle Upon Tyne, NE1 2SW

Delivery available on orders of £10 and over (delivery fee £2)

Overall

4.3 stars out of 6 4.3 / 6
Food quality 4.2
Delivery time 4.3
Service 4.3

Based on the 269 most recent reviews

807 reviews of Lucky 9

  • 14/02/2019
    James
    2.5 stars out of 6
    Food took 1 hour 45 minutes from order. Didn’t even apologise when I called. Told me driver on way. Called 15 minutes later to complain as still wasn’t there and this time they apologised but nothing offered to compensate and still waited another 10 minutes
  • 14/02/2019
    Brandonspence
    6 stars out of 6
  • 14/02/2019
    William
    5.5 stars out of 6
    tasty :)
  • 13/02/2019
    A
    5.5 stars out of 6
    Ok so let me first say that the food was perfectly fine, nothing wrong with it per say. However, the sweet and sour pork (amazed how hard it was to find someone who does S&S pork) was overpriced at £7 bordering on a ripple off considering I got 8 balls which whilst of an ok size were 65-75% batter and the tiny bit of pork they did contain was mostly fat (I assume one rib sized strip of belly pork was used) and was completely unseasoned and bland. Sweet and sour sauce was nice if a bit on the thin side. Chips were actually the best I've had from any takeaway in Newcastle (not a particularly high bar I'm afraid) but the fried rice again was very mediocre and bland. Ribs were slightly overcooked, not bad but nothing special. All in all I have to say it all tasted like a non Chinese persons attempt at Chinese food, nothing tasted authentic, it didn't even smell Chinese (by that I mean usually everything from a Chinese place has that 5 spice, star anise smell/taste to it). Like I said, perfectly edible but nothing special at all and completely over priced for what I got. Oh, also this whole being given a delivery time 80 mins away but then getting delivered after 30 mins is an annoyance, don't try and trick people just give an honest delivery window.
  • 12/02/2019
    Ymelia
    5.5 stars out of 6
    There was a soggy box, but the food was pretty good.
  • 11/02/2019
    Danni
    6 stars out of 6
    As usual, the food was awesome. Didn't have my first choice in but the replacement was delicious. I wish I had a bigger belly so I could eat more.
  • 08/02/2019
    Molly
    4.5 stars out of 6
  • 08/02/2019
    Stuart
    1.5 stars out of 6
    Food arrive cold. Kept and transported in a cardboard box Not even bagged up. Lids open and food spilt in box. Disappointed service this time around.
  • 08/02/2019
    Simon
    1 stars out of 6
    Terrible, unfortunately there isn’t an option for zero stars. After the restaurant changed the delivery time from 8pm to 8:30 our food still did not arrive until after 9:15, we called the restaurant multiple times and were assured that it was with the driver from 8:45. by the time it arrived everything was completely cold and the meal ruined. Staff at the restaurant were unhelpful and uncaring, making empty offers of a paltry discount on a further order (why they would expect us to order from them again is beyond me after this experience).
  • 06/02/2019
    Derek
    6 stars out of 6
    Tasty meal and excellent service
  • 05/02/2019
    Chels
    5.5 stars out of 6
    Delicious food and very fast delivery (quicker than expected). The only dissapointment was that the Lucky 9 Megabox did not contain spare ribs which it promised to.
  • 05/02/2019
    Melanie
    6 stars out of 6
  • 05/02/2019
    Victoria
    1 stars out of 6
    Absolutly disgusting...fish was Full of bones to the point it was inedible. Cold when it arrived waste of 26.00. If a dish includes bones that you could choke on it should state contains bones. It has head and tail also not mentioned in the description. Sweet corn soup was awful and sweet and sour tasteless. Refused refund got one off just eat. Go somewhere else if you don't want choking on bones or want hot food 😠 wish i could give no stars
  • 05/02/2019
    Yuqi
    4.5 stars out of 6
  • 05/02/2019
    Dr
    1 stars out of 6
  • 03/02/2019
    Naomi
    1 stars out of 6
    terrible delivery service
  • 02/02/2019
    Matty
    1.5 stars out of 6
    Never again! The food was bland/looked like rubbish and tasted like it. Most of my food was off and smelly. I can't believe your treating your customers like that! We are the ones funding your income! Treat us better. Debating on reporting you to health and hygiene.
  • 31/01/2019
    Sophie
    6 stars out of 6
  • 31/01/2019
    Carys
    6 stars out of 6
  • 30/01/2019
    Lauren
    1.5 stars out of 6
  • 26/01/2019
    Lucy
    6 stars out of 6
    Great food, great service and great value. The food here is always great. Cheers :)
  • 26/01/2019
    Bella
    5.5 stars out of 6
  • 26/01/2019
    Mark
    6 stars out of 6
  • 24/01/2019
    Ben
    6 stars out of 6
  • 24/01/2019
    Jasmin
    4.5 stars out of 6
    Delivery driver was nice
  • 21/01/2019
    Emily
    6 stars out of 6
    best chinese ever
  • 20/01/2019
    Molly
    6 stars out of 6
    Great food and great delivery time and service
  • 20/01/2019
    Lucy
    5.5 stars out of 6
    Not sure why this place has such mixed reviews, every time I’ve ordered it’s been great! Good communication and great food.
  • 20/01/2019
    Alice
    3.5 stars out of 6
  • 18/01/2019
    Anna
    5.5 stars out of 6
1 of 27 next 30

There are no items in your basket

Delivery available on orders of £10 and over (delivery fee £2)

View order