We use cookies to improve your browsing experience. By continuing, you agree to receive cookies on our website. Learn more

Sitar Tandoori

Indian

7 Kings Parade Fiveways Ditchling Road, Brighton, BN1 6JT

Delivery charge £0 over £12, not available below £12

Overall

5.2 stars out of 6 5.2 / 6
Food quality 5.4
Delivery time 5
Service 5.2

Based on the 142 most recent reviews

312 reviews of Sitar Tandoori

  • 16/05/2017
    Zahra
    5.5 stars out of 6
  • 16/05/2017
    Jade
    3.5 stars out of 6
    Curry from Sitar is really tasty, but they are always really let down by their appalling delivery service. Our food took over an hour and a half to arrive, 25 mins later than the delivery time stated. When we asked the driver if he'd got lost on his way to us, he looked at us blankly and didn't understand a word we were saying, no apology either. Prawns in the rogan josh were very miniature as well. This isn't the first time our order has been messed up here - don't think we'll be ordering again.
  • 06/05/2017
    Rebecca
    2.5 stars out of 6
    An item was left off my delivery when it arrived. Staff were very unhelpful when I rang to ask where the item was, couldn't deliver it for at least a few hours and were unwilling to refund the item unless I went to the shop and collected the money, even though I paid by card and live miles away. Was promised a discount off my next order however did not take my details and were promised that this case would be remembered. Very unlikely I will order again, which is a shame because the food is of good quality and I've never been displeased previously.
  • 01/05/2017
    Tess
    1 stars out of 6
    Driver was 30 minutes late and restaurant was unapologetic despite a confirmation time.
  • 01/05/2017
    Toby
    4.5 stars out of 6
    Definitely the best value Indian in the area, great quality food and reasonable prices. The set menus are excellent.
  • 29/04/2017
    Kimmie
    6 stars out of 6
  • 23/04/2017
    Leah
    5.5 stars out of 6
  • 22/04/2017
    Nikki
    4.5 stars out of 6
  • 22/04/2017
    Laura
    2.5 stars out of 6
    We go to Sitar quite regularly. 99% of the time I pick the food up myself. However, yesterday I had stuff to do so I ordered it to be delivered. We were subsequently given a waiting time of 1hr 30mins, which is long considering the restaurant is a 10 minute walk from my house. Anyway, we were content to wait. ............ 9pm arrives and no sign of our food. I decide to wait until 9.15 before calling up, which I do. The guy offers no apology and just tells me he will phone the driver and call me back. 5 mins later I get a call back - he proceeds to tell me that the driver has been in an accident (quite why the driver was able to take a phone call from the restaurant to explain this to them, but wasn't able to let them know in the first place, I am not sure...). Anyway, now he was very apologetic and told me they are preparing a new meal to be sent out as soon as possible. I asked him how long this would take. He said about 20 minutes, which ended up being about right. When we finally got our food, I asked the delivery driver about the accident the other driver had been in; he just looked nervous, muttered a few things I couldn't understand, and then apologised for the delay. The food here is very good, we knew this because we are regular customers, but I am shocked and appalled at this delivery service (I notice a lot of the reviews here are regarding the delivery). We should have received some sort of compensation, a few quid off at least for waiting over 2 hours for our food, but no such offer was forthcoming. I did kick myself afterwards for not demanding this - I should have refused to give the delivery driver the full price. Anyway, I am very angry about this and even though the food is good, I will not be treated like this again and so have decided I will start going to the other 5-star Indian a few doors down, Agra Tandoori.
  • 17/04/2017
    Kit
    6 stars out of 6
  • 09/04/2017
    Courtney
    6 stars out of 6
  • 09/04/2017
    Kirstin
    5.5 stars out of 6
  • 07/04/2017
    Ed
    6 stars out of 6
  • 27/03/2017
    Talla
    6 stars out of 6
  • 25/03/2017
    Kimmie
    6 stars out of 6
  • 19/02/2017
    Tara
    5.5 stars out of 6
    Onion bharjis have changed preferred them before new ones are slightly strange
  • 22/04/2017
    Liza
    5 stars out of 6
  • 23/04/2017
    Shannon
    6 stars out of 6
    Amazing as always weekly curry went downa treat thanks :)
  • 24/04/2017
    Jamie
    5.5 stars out of 6
    The driver would not accept my tip haha
  • 29/04/2017
    Becky
    4 stars out of 6
    I didn't get a free dish for ordering over £30 worth of food, although we were given a free bottle of Coke (which none of us like). Delivery man didn't speak English which made it difficult/impossible to communicate with him. 1 star for restaurant service as we didn't use any restaurant. For service in general it was ok though see comment about delivery driver
  • 30/04/2017
    Liza
    3 stars out of 6
  • 04/03/2017
    Sarah
    5 stars out of 6
    Very good as always 😄😄😄
  • 05/03/2017
    Tara
    5.5 stars out of 6
    Bread a little dry but food very nice and came 30min earlier than expected , great 👍🏻
  • 14/03/2017
    Winnie
    5.5 stars out of 6
  • 18/03/2017
    Donna
    5 stars out of 6
    Food good as normal however ordered on Just Eat for 9.15 confirmed by restaurant for 9.45 turned up at 9.05 luckily we had just got home so didn't miss delivery man
  • 25/03/2017
    Andrew
    6 stars out of 6
    On this occasion sitar tandoori have delivered.by.far the best curry they Cooked in long time, and they delivered a but early which was.also good
  • 28/03/2017
    Dan
    6 stars out of 6
    Brilliant food!
  • 01/04/2017
    Kimmie
    6 stars out of 6
  • 01/04/2017
    Leah
    6 stars out of 6
  • 13/04/2017
    Connie
    5.5 stars out of 6
    Yummy
1 of 11 next 30

Your Order

There are no items in your basket

Delivery charge £0 over £12, not available below £12

View basket