We use cookies to improve your browsing experience. By continuing, you agree to receive cookies on our website. Learn more

The Calabash African Restaurant

African, West African, Halal

57 Union Street, Glasgow, G1 3RB

Free delivery

20% off today on orders over £20

Overall

3.7 stars out of 6 3.7 / 6
Food quality 3.8
Delivery time 3.6
Service 3.7

Based on the 40 most recent reviews

119 reviews of The Calabash African Restaurant

  • 31/01/2018
    Sandy
    1.5 stars out of 6
  • 30/01/2018
    Morayo
    6 stars out of 6
    The food was late but given the fact that the food is cooked fresh, then I will say fair enough. The food didn’t disappoint. I had eguse and ogbono and it was absolutely delicious. Please keep up the good work! It’s hard to find a restaurant which does good African food. Thanks for a delicious meal.
  • 13/01/2018
    Malcolm
    2 stars out of 6
    Food was reasonably tasty. Over an hour late, and wasn’t hot. It was expensive for the food received. I shall be contacting justeat asking for a refund.
  • 09/01/2018
    Nmouart
    6 stars out of 6
    Thanks it was delicious !
  • 06/01/2018
    Natasha
    4.5 stars out of 6
    Apart from the Delivery being 1 hour late the food was amazing
  • 27/12/2017
    Enitan
    1 stars out of 6
    Food rubbish
  • 27/12/2017
    Abigail
    5 stars out of 6
    Enjoyed the food :)
  • 21/12/2017
    Mrs
    6 stars out of 6
    Was on time, food was piping hot and was lovely, perfect African cuisine. Thank you to the restaurant.
  • 17/12/2017
    John
    1 stars out of 6
    Shocking service .phoned twice .they even said phone back never did . Still no food arrived after two hours . Now phoned just eat for money back
  • 09/12/2017
    Natasha
    1.5 stars out of 6
  • 08/12/2017
    Shaquelle
    6 stars out of 6
    Excellent food from a late night order.
  • 17/11/2017
    Nicky
    2.5 stars out of 6
    Waited a while before leaving a review as the staff promised a full refund if I contacted just-eat to request. Either just-eat or the restaurant ignored the request and I was never refunded. Was sent wrong items and the correct items were poor quality. Restaurant staff were really nice trying to explain maybe I don't understand African food but what I understood was the description of what I ordered and the description to the item below which I got. The soup was like half a tin of blended chopped tomatoes with no bread as advertised which I'm sure isn't a genuine African recipe. Avoid this place. I think they are all smoking too much and shoving anything in the bag then offering refunds they don't follow up with. Waste of money!
  • 12/11/2017
    Akin
    5.5 stars out of 6
    The food was great - although it came in small portions, which is a shame. But the delivery service was early and friendly.
  • 11/11/2017
    Natalie
    5.5 stars out of 6
    Nice Surprise. Didn't know what to expect. Really nice flavours, all affordable. Very polite driver. Nice break from all the Indians and Chinese take-outs. Will order again.
  • 31/10/2017
    Elvi
    1 stars out of 6
    Avoid this restaurant like a plague
  • 22/10/2017
    Sean
    1 stars out of 6
    food been late for over an hour even after the added time by the restaurant its cold and soggy and cheap quality such a waste of money and time would never order from this disgraceful place again
  • 25/09/2017
    Natalia
    2.5 stars out of 6
    Decided to collect as last time we visited the wait was a while. Food over an hour late for collection husband has been waiting despite the fact We ordered for collection in an hour after ordering they also added on 30 mins. Wish I would have just cooked myself! Food was nice but ruined by the wait. Food was really nice but food always tastes better when your starving...
  • 18/09/2017
    Ryan
    1 stars out of 6
    Think this may be flew direct from Africa as still not arrived
  • 29/07/2017
    Abiodun
    5.5 stars out of 6
    Best Nigerian meal I've had in the UK. Brilliant service, hot and delicious (you know the finger licking variant)
  • 25/07/2017
    Ari
    6 stars out of 6
    Delicious this is the best place to eat ever loved everything so much and it's healthy.
  • 23/07/2017
    Weqas
    1 stars out of 6
    Where is my food ??? Still waiting my friend
  • 18/07/2017
    David
    4 stars out of 6
    Food very good. Did arrive late but delivery driver was very apologetic. I will eat their food again.
  • 16/07/2017
    Thandiwe
    4.5 stars out of 6
    I don't know why the nyma choma is coming with a source, everything else was great!!! 👌🏽🙌🏽💦
  • 12/07/2017
    Tolu
    6 stars out of 6
    I will definitely order again as it what the wait
  • 20/06/2017
    Thandiwe
    4.5 stars out of 6
    The nyama choma came mixed in with a sauce and I don't remember asking for this. that's not how I wanted my nyama choma. Other than that, everything else was okay.
  • 09/06/2017
    Stephanie
    6 stars out of 6
    Amazing!!!
  • 06/06/2017
    Yvonne
    3.5 stars out of 6
    No cutlery, no serviettes issued... It was a bad experience, had to run around looking for them. They should improve on this. I would definitely like to order again but not with this service.
  • 27/05/2017
    Rayanne
    6 stars out of 6
  • 23/05/2017
    Lily
    3.5 stars out of 6
  • 20/05/2017
    Kim
    1.5 stars out of 6
    Food was very poor. Overall bad experience. Never going back
1 of 4 next 30

There are no items in your basket

Free delivery

View order