;

We use cookies to improve your browsing experience. By continuing, you agree to receive cookies on our website. Learn more

The Calabash African Restaurant

African, West African, Halal

57 Union Street, Glasgow, G1 3RB

Delivery available on orders of £7 and over (delivery fee £2)

Overall

3.8 stars out of 6 3.8 / 6
Food quality 4
Delivery time 3.7
Service 3.8

Based on the 40 most recent reviews

131 reviews of The Calabash African Restaurant

  • 24/05/2018
    Zee
    1.5 stars out of 6
    better eating in the delivery portions are terrible
  • 13/05/2018
    Aissa
    2.5 stars out of 6
    It’s the 2nd time I order from this restaurant. Satisfied the first time but today I just ordered 2 sides of plantain. the order came late and the plantains were burnt. I’m not at all satisfied this time. Will think twice before ordering again.
  • 12/05/2018
    Edwin
    5.5 stars out of 6
  • 17/04/2018
    Aissa
    5 stars out of 6
  • 11/04/2018
    Stephen
    5 stars out of 6
    I order vegetarian samosas and there was meat in some of them. The vegetarian at my work was raging with me and it was my boss's boss!
  • 07/04/2018
    Katarina
    1 stars out of 6
    I ordered at 2000 and was given a delivery time of 2045. In the email this was updated to 2115. I called when it hadn‘t arrived by 2200 and was told it was on it‘s way - I live a 20 minute drive from the restaurant, it‘s now 2300 and I have just called and cancelled the order, three hours after I placed it. The restaurant made no effort to communicate with me and made the excuse of only having one delivery driver working when I called to cancel, so I was absolutely lied to when I called the first time. Absolutely not recommended.
  • 07/04/2018
    Yewande
    4 stars out of 6
    The ogbono soup was okay but I added a bit of maggi sauce and it wad not pipng hot. The goat meat needed longer in the stock pot as it was still tough. But all in all I enjoyef my meal. Plus the delivery came on time much to my delight.
  • 05/04/2018
    Natasha
    1.5 stars out of 6
    I ordered the same meal as yesterday and the person the made it had no care at alI 4 small meat and dry fried banana is not what I had yesterday! I'm so disappointed !
  • 04/04/2018
    Natasha
    6 stars out of 6
    The food was so amezing and it came on time , the delivery man is so lovely. I will always order from them , the best African Restourant in Glasgow
  • 31/03/2018
    Mhairi
    6 stars out of 6
  • 01/03/2018
    Marcus
    4 stars out of 6
    Food was great but delivery took a long time.
  • 31/01/2018
    Sandy
    1.5 stars out of 6
  • 30/01/2018
    Morayo
    6 stars out of 6
    The food was late but given the fact that the food is cooked fresh, then I will say fair enough. The food didn’t disappoint. I had eguse and ogbono and it was absolutely delicious. Please keep up the good work! It’s hard to find a restaurant which does good African food. Thanks for a delicious meal.
  • 23/01/2018
    Nmouart
    5.5 stars out of 6
  • 13/01/2018
    Malcolm
    2 stars out of 6
    Food was reasonably tasty. Over an hour late, and wasn’t hot. It was expensive for the food received. I shall be contacting justeat asking for a refund.
  • 09/01/2018
    Nmouart
    6 stars out of 6
    Thanks it was delicious !
  • 06/01/2018
    Natasha
    4.5 stars out of 6
    Apart from the Delivery being 1 hour late the food was amazing
  • 27/12/2017
    Enitan
    1 stars out of 6
    Food rubbish
  • 27/12/2017
    Abigail
    5 stars out of 6
    Enjoyed the food :)
  • 21/12/2017
    Mrs
    6 stars out of 6
    Was on time, food was piping hot and was lovely, perfect African cuisine. Thank you to the restaurant.
  • 17/12/2017
    John
    1 stars out of 6
    Shocking service .phoned twice .they even said phone back never did . Still no food arrived after two hours . Now phoned just eat for money back
  • 09/12/2017
    Natasha
    1.5 stars out of 6
  • 08/12/2017
    Shaquelle
    6 stars out of 6
    Excellent food from a late night order.
  • 17/11/2017
    Nicky
    2.5 stars out of 6
    Waited a while before leaving a review as the staff promised a full refund if I contacted just-eat to request. Either just-eat or the restaurant ignored the request and I was never refunded. Was sent wrong items and the correct items were poor quality. Restaurant staff were really nice trying to explain maybe I don't understand African food but what I understood was the description of what I ordered and the description to the item below which I got. The soup was like half a tin of blended chopped tomatoes with no bread as advertised which I'm sure isn't a genuine African recipe. Avoid this place. I think they are all smoking too much and shoving anything in the bag then offering refunds they don't follow up with. Waste of money!
  • 12/11/2017
    Akin
    5.5 stars out of 6
    The food was great - although it came in small portions, which is a shame. But the delivery service was early and friendly.
  • 11/11/2017
    Natalie
    5.5 stars out of 6
    Nice Surprise. Didn't know what to expect. Really nice flavours, all affordable. Very polite driver. Nice break from all the Indians and Chinese take-outs. Will order again.
  • 31/10/2017
    Elvi
    1 stars out of 6
    Avoid this restaurant like a plague
  • 22/10/2017
    Sean
    1 stars out of 6
    food been late for over an hour even after the added time by the restaurant its cold and soggy and cheap quality such a waste of money and time would never order from this disgraceful place again
  • 25/09/2017
    Natalia
    2.5 stars out of 6
    Decided to collect as last time we visited the wait was a while. Food over an hour late for collection husband has been waiting despite the fact We ordered for collection in an hour after ordering they also added on 30 mins. Wish I would have just cooked myself! Food was nice but ruined by the wait. Food was really nice but food always tastes better when your starving...
  • 18/09/2017
    Ryan
    1 stars out of 6
    Think this may be flew direct from Africa as still not arrived
1 of 5 next 30

There are no items in your basket

Delivery available on orders of £7 and over (delivery fee £2)

View order