We use cookies to improve your browsing experience. By continuing, you agree to receive cookies on our website. Learn more

The Empress

Indian, Indian, Halal

141 Leman Street, Tower Hamlets, E1 8EY

Free delivery

Overall

4.8 stars out of 6 4.8 / 6
Food quality 4.5
Delivery time 5
Service 4.9

Based on the 30 most recent reviews

281 reviews of The Empress

  • 20/10/2019
    Mike
    5 stars out of 6
  • 15/10/2019
    Linda
    6 stars out of 6
  • 04/10/2019
    Noel
    4.5 stars out of 6
    The food arrived 14 minutes after the estimated arrival time, which was already surprisingly late given that the restaurant is about a 10 minute walk from our house. The food was delicious, but slightly cool, which was disappointing because we'd loved the place when we ate in.
  • 11/09/2019
    Robert
    5.5 stars out of 6
    The food was ok it lacked taste and the sag aloo was a little too greasy if you like a mild tasting curry this is the place for you
  • 03/09/2019
    Ruhel
    3.5 stars out of 6
    Food was not great! Wont be ordering again!!!!
  • 30/08/2019
    Rachel
    6 stars out of 6
  • 16/08/2019
    Rachel
    5.5 stars out of 6
  • 16/08/2019
    Lucy
    4 stars out of 6
  • 15/08/2019
    Abdul
    6 stars out of 6
  • 27/07/2019
    Chris
    6 stars out of 6
    Ordered from the Empress when visiting friends in London as I can't get a decent curry in my town. Was very impressed. They arrived early (35 min delivery time on a Saturday night not bad) and the food was very tasty.
  • 27/07/2019
    John
    6 stars out of 6
    My girlfriend is the pickiest, snobbiest takeaway eater I've ever met and this is the only Indian she'll eat. It really is amazing.
  • 08/06/2019
    Emma
    2 stars out of 6
  • 08/06/2019
    Kate
    6 stars out of 6
    Lovely food would order again in the future.
  • 07/06/2019
    Ally
    1 stars out of 6
    Worst curry ever. Everything tasted like a chicken stock cube, nothing like any Indian dish I’ve ever tasted. The Butter Chicken was bland, had separated, therefore reheated/old and just tasted like chicken stock. The mushroom rice, again no Indian flavours, just stock. Cauliflower bhaji was reheated, flavourless but also undercooked and massively over salted. It all went in the bin without being eaten and we had some cheese on toast instead. AVOID.
  • 04/06/2019
    Sima
    3 stars out of 6
  • 27/05/2019
    Chris
    4 stars out of 6
    Food quality was ok, both curries were too oily for our tastes and all items were rather cold when they arrived.
  • 27/04/2019
    Kate
    6 stars out of 6
    Lovely meal, would recommend.
  • 21/04/2019
    Max
    4.5 stars out of 6
    The food quality borders on average. Some of the dishes (vegetable and chicken)were way too oily. I would only recommend the tandoori chicken which was above average.
  • 08/03/2019
    Ahlam
    1 stars out of 6
    For £34 they missed out a main (I'm still waiting for my refund) ended up having to cook, which defeated the purpose of ordering out. No complementary poppadoms or sauce. Nothing... Please issue my refund ASAP and JustEat you really need to look into customers being short changed.. Its not acceptable

    The Empress replied

    hi thanks for ordering with us we apologise for the error with your order all refunds are processed by just eat and not ourselves and where is it that we have short changed you, you may contact me directly ask for myself FOZ and I will look to help you accordingly

  • 04/03/2019
    Greg
    5.5 stars out of 6
    Food always great !
  • 06/11/2018
    Naomi
    2 stars out of 6
    The food is awful. It's greasy and bland. I don't know why our curries tasted so sweet! Very disappointed. I won't be ordering from here again.
  • 08/11/2018
    Dave
    6 stars out of 6

    The Empress replied

    thank you for your continued support and custom

  • 13/11/2018
    Nadiah
    4.5 stars out of 6
    Honestly speaking, the quality of the food has gone down significantly. I.used to order food from here a few years ago and the food was amazing but this time I was let down. I dont understand how everything I ate tasted sweet, indian food is supposed to be spicy! Very pricey as well in my opinion

    The Empress replied

    many thanks for your review our chef has been with us now for approximately 15 years and I guess usually experience makes chefs better not this time as you say, I am however concerned that you or someone with your same name has also left a very negative reviews of us on other websites as well, if there is a personal issues with any of us here please feel free to call me directly and I will look t help you to resolve this, as I don't believe these are genuine concerns and may be plotted by a close competitor

  • 25/11/2018
    Marco
    5.5 stars out of 6
    fantastic food and was cooked spicy when requested, will order again soon
  • 24/12/2018
    Rob
    5 stars out of 6
    Decent meal however burnt and dry naan let it down.
  • 08/01/2019
    Umar
    6 stars out of 6
    Food is the best and the service is outstanding. The delivery man comes in a suit to deliver and has so much ettiquite. Delivery is also quick. Truly the best Indian food in town. Bravo
  • 28/01/2019
    Jake
    6 stars out of 6
  • 02/02/2019
    Kate
    6 stars out of 6
  • 03/02/2019
    Steve
    5 stars out of 6
  • 14/02/2019
    Mohammed
    1 stars out of 6
    Everything had leaked in the bag, terrible service and did not taste very authentic

    The Empress replied

    apologies if the was an issue with your order out of the many takeaways we do everyday accidents are inevitable I'm sorry it happened please call us at the first instance and we can look to replace your food and or refund your money

1 of 10 next 30

There are no items in your basket

Free delivery

View order