;

We use cookies to improve your browsing experience. By continuing, you agree to receive cookies on our website. Learn more

The Gorgie Fish Bar

Fish & Chips, Kebab

136-138 Gorgie Road, Edinburgh, EH11 2NS

Opening at 17:00

Overall

4.8 stars out of 6 4.8 / 6
Food quality 4.8
Delivery time 4.6
Service 4.8

Based on the 150 most recent reviews

670 reviews of The Gorgie Fish Bar

  • 24/05/2018
    Jade
    5.5 stars out of 6
  • 12/05/2018
    JACOB
    6 stars out of 6
    Great food, says 1 hour but arrived within 15 min, made fresh to order. Lovely dpstaff
  • 12/05/2018
    Lisa
    4.5 stars out of 6
    I would rather my food had been delivered on time than early. The pizza was not cooked enough and was soggy and the cheese was pale and only just melted. Impossible to separate the slices. Usually love this chippy but very disappointed tonight
  • 11/05/2018
    Alex
    6 stars out of 6
  • 09/05/2018
    Sheila
    6 stars out of 6
    Great food as ever...have been a happy customer for over 8yrs with very little to complain about... thank you
  • 09/05/2018
    Kirsty
    2 stars out of 6
    I was told the food had left the chipper but 10 minutes had past and it still hadn’t arrived even though it’s about 5 minutes away. Then I received a phone call from the chipper to say they didn’t have something I ordered so asked what I wanted instead. 15 minutes after the food was supposed to have arrived it still wasn’t here so I phoned up and they said it had just left but it still took about 15 minutes to be delivered.
  • 30/04/2018
    Ashley
    2.5 stars out of 6
    Arrived late. Driver did apologise. Fish and chips were cold and doner meat burnt. Could smell and taste the burntness! Waste of money.
  • 29/04/2018
    Thomas
    6 stars out of 6
  • 28/04/2018
    Amy
    4 stars out of 6
    always rave about this chippy but tonight I was slightly disappointed. ordered fish supper and a pizza. fish could have been hotter but chips were fine but tasted fine. pizza was cold which isn’t great as I only live 5 mins away so may have been lying a while before delivered and I had to reheat in the oven. once heated up tasted good. would still order from here as it’s excellent but slight mishap tonight
  • 14/04/2018
    Ann
    4 stars out of 6
    Donner meat in kebab looked and tasted artificial
  • 07/04/2018
    Scott
    6 stars out of 6
    excellent service food delivered well before stayed time and food was excellent
  • 29/03/2018
    Thomas
    6 stars out of 6
  • 25/03/2018
    Amy
    6 stars out of 6
    best chippy hands down..... think you should re name the fish supper “whale supper” it’s getting bigger every time haha! fantastic food and tastes so fresh. 1 very happy customer
  • 24/03/2018
    Dylan
    6 stars out of 6
  • 20/03/2018
    Ciaran
    6 stars out of 6
    Excellent service. Food is fantastic. Amazing pizza and kebabs!
  • 16/03/2018
    Colin
    5 stars out of 6
  • 16/03/2018
    Kevin
    6 stars out of 6
    Best chippy in Edinburgh. Fresh fish and large portions. Why go anywhere else?
  • 15/03/2018
    Antonios
    6 stars out of 6
  • 14/03/2018
    Sheila
    6 stars out of 6
    Best chippy in this area by far...quality of the food is spot on
  • 13/03/2018
    Olivia
    5 stars out of 6
  • 12/03/2018
    Scott
    2.5 stars out of 6
  • 11/03/2018
    Chloe
    2.5 stars out of 6
    Ordered 2 hours ago!! 2 phone calls to the shop to see where my order is to be fobbed off twice with rubbish excuse of being stuck in traffic on a sunday night to an address less than 10mintues away - STILL NO FOOD shocking service need to either get more drivers or stop taking in so many orders to be delivered definitely WONT be ordering agian!

    The Gorgie Fish Bar replied

    You are correct you did call us twice however you were informed the first time that we were waiting on the driver coming by back to the shop you told us you ordered around 1 hour ago I responded with half an hour ago as we receive the order time on our tickets . the second time we informed you your delivery was on its way.. we do not control the traffic weather it be 2 minutes or 10 minutes along the road.. Sunday can be just as busy as the weekends.. we do not deliver on a closest address first we deliver first come first served.. perhaps next time order a collection as it’s only 10 MINUTES along the road and you won’t have the hassle of waiting around half an hour, 45 minutes for a delivery..

  • 06/03/2018
    Zaakir
    1.5 stars out of 6
    The food came over 2 hours late and the food was cold so not recommend

    The Gorgie Fish Bar replied

    We do apologies for the delay with your delivery. I apologised over the phone to you, for the delay due to the weather. And we were busy with deliveries. Sorry about wasn’t up to standard but you did as for extra sauce on top.

  • 04/03/2018
    Martin
    3.5 stars out of 6
  • 03/03/2018
    Sheila
    6 stars out of 6
  • 02/03/2018
    Kim
    6 stars out of 6
    Absolutely amazing pizza! Will definitely order from here again :)
  • 02/03/2018
    Hannah
    5.5 stars out of 6
    Gorgie fish bar is actually the BEST chippy in Edinburgh. We have never been disappointed. Took quite a while for delivery this time (we are mid-beast-from-the-east so we’ll let them off!) the staff inside the shop (past experience) are absolutely lovely and you can tell it’s just a nice family run business.
  • 27/02/2018
    Douglas
    4.5 stars out of 6
    Food could have been warmer
  • 27/02/2018
    Laura
    5.5 stars out of 6
  • 27/02/2018
    Peter
    5.5 stars out of 6
    Almost excellent, but most of the cops were small, thin and crunchy, not full size.
1 of 23 next 30

There are no items in your basket

Delivery available on orders of £8 and over (delivery fee £2.10)

View order